Lavander Cupcakes with Honey Cream Cheese Frosting

As I have already told you, I usually make cupcakes as birthday presents for my friends. Well, a few sundays back we had a little birthday party for my boss, at the bistro where I work. I had no idea what to get her, so I instantly thought of cupcakes, but what kind? I had wanted to try lavander cupcakes for a while now, and it was the perfect opportunity. I researched the web for recipes ( when I say web, I mean Pinterest, it’s the best and I’m obsessed with it ) and after reading different takes on this type of cupcake, I decided to try this recipe from Jessie’s Kitchen Chronicles, they were just too adorable.

lavv1

As you can see, mine are dark purple. That’s because I only had powder food coloring in the house and I thought it would do the the trick, but the blue was too dark and they came out like this. So, if you want to try this recipe, DON’T use powder food coloring. If you want to make them natural and not use food coloring, you can boil red cabbage and use the purple water to color the cupcakes, that’s what I want to try the next time I make these.

Now, enough about the aspect, let’s get to the good part, the taste. The cupcakes were a bit too lavandery for my taste, so next time I want to try reducing the lavander quantity to only 2 tablespoons of dried lavander buds, maybe even 1 1/2. The thing I loved most about these cupcakes was the frosting. It was PERFECTION. Creamy and just sweet enough, the honey complimented the lavander perfectly, but I’d like to try it with some other type of cupcake too, maybe something with walnuts.

lav1

All in all, I’m pretty satisfied with the result and I can’t wait to make them again with my alterations. If you try these and you have any other suggestions, please let me know.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

